Negotiating your lease
Your credit-worthiness is probably the most important factor when negotiating a lease. Landlords will tipically require an up to date credit report and will basically review the score, number of active and closed accounts and whether any bankruptcies or judgments exist on record. Personal and trade references will be needed when applying, also a background check is often performed by the landlord's agent or community management company if one exists.
Typically landlords demand the 1st and last month's rental in advance, as well as 1 month's rental as security deposit. The last month may, at the landlor's discretion, may be prorated or waived if the prospective tenant's credit-worthiness is deemed to be up to the landlord's standards.
While all landlords and property owners carry insurance on their properties, these policies cover the landlord's property - not yours. To protect yourself in the event of fire, flood, or theft, you should obtain a renter's insurance policy from a reputable insurance company. These policies cover your belongings and are relatively inexpensive, contact me for a quote.
Most landlords will require an increased security deposit (usually $200) which will have to be paid prior to move in. We recommend that you start looking for an apartment that accepts pets at least 60 days in advance of your move in date. Some landlords require increased monthly rental payments, others require increased security deposits. If you have some other kind of pet, ask your agent if they are acceptable before you sign a lease.
Landlord/ Tenant act (Florida Statute)
Most renters are aware they have certain rights when they are involved in a dispute with their landlord, however they often don't know what those rights are. This brochure was developed by the Florida Department of Agriculture & Consumer Services to answer many of the questions frequently asked about landlord/tenant relationships. This brochure is NOT meant to be a complete summary of Florida's Landlord/Tenant Law. For additional information not addressed in the brochure, refer to Chapter 83 of the Florida Statutes. A copy of the statutes can be obtained at your county courthouse, public library, or by calling us at 1-800-HELP-FLA (435-7352). This brochure is not intended for the purpose of providing legal advice. Click here for full details.